Fossil Forum

How to merge branches that independently created the same file?
Login

(1) By patmaddox on 2023-03-13 19:41:34 [link] [source]

I am very new to fossil. I've read through a bunch of docs, and read a bunch of forum posts, but I'm just getting started "getting it under my fingers."

I added a file foo.md in a separate checkout and did fossil commit --branch branch1 to put it in a new branch. Then back in trunk checkout I also added foo.md and committed.

In my branch1 checkout, I run fossil merge trunk and get the output WARNING: no common ancestor for bar.md with an exit status of 0. There is no change to the content in branch1 checkout.

1. Am I completely missing a command? :)
  2. Why does merge show a returning and exit 0? I would expect exit 1 if it can't do the merge.
  3. How do I merge these branches? I would expect fossil to present me with a conflict if it can't merge them automatically.

The only info I've found related to "no common ancestor for FILE" is this 9-year old post that describes my situation but doesn't have a resolution.

This is fossil version 2.21 [f9aa474081] 2023-02-25 19:23:39 UTC

(2) By patmaddox on 2023-03-13 20:09:23 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

Well, I have a little bit more info... I had to fossil up before doing fossil merge (or after - it doesn't seem to make a difference which came first).

Interestingly, fossil just applied the content from trunk, completely overwriting the content in my branch1. So, I guess it doesn't show a conflict and provide an opportunity to resolve.

Conflicting edits to the same file name result in a merge conflict, but conflicting adds to the same file name don't.

(3.1) By Larry Brasfield (larrybr) on 2023-03-13 20:37:33 edited from 3.0 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

[Clarification and spelling edits, and a caveat]

Conflicting edits to the same file name result in a merge conflict, but conflicting adds to the same file name don't.