Fossil Forum

Location of .fossil
Login

Location of .fossil

Location of .fossil

(1) By anonymous on 2020-04-17 12:26:31 [link] [source]

As written in the documentation, global settings are stored in $HOME/.fossil on Unix computers and in %LOCALAPPDATA%/_fossil on Windows computers.

The specifications of macOS tell us that such a file should probably go under $HOME/Library/Preferences and the XDG specifications for Linux tell us that it should go in $XDG_CONFIG_HOME (which defaults to $HOME/.config).

There has been a wide mouvement of ‘$HOME decluttering’ among many open source projects including git. Would it be possible to change Fossil default config file location?

(2) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2020-04-17 15:36:27 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I've been doing unix for 36 years, and I've never heard of any of this before. I glanced through the documentation, quickly, and my first impression is that this is all an attempt to make unix more "friendly" to point-and-click users, and the expense of command-line users. In other words, the $XDG goal is to support GUIs and applications that you downloaded from an App-Store. For those of us who were raised on Unix PWB (Programmers Work-Bench) and who view unix as the world's greated IDE, this seems like needless and pointless complication.

How badly does my initial impression miss the mark?

(3) By Larry Brasfield (LarryBrasfield) on 2020-04-17 16:00:00 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

You have not missed the mark at all for any Unixen I know of. (I've used quite a few, starting with SCO running on a PDP-11.)

You would even be on the mark for "MacOS" (or whatever rock or animal it is now), if you were running on the real, BSD OS that is buried within it.