Fossil Forum

Compiler/Linker errors under MSC 16 (VS2010)
Login

(1) By anonymous on 2021-01-14 11:04:44 [source]

Hello all,

I am new to fossil. I have been compiling the fossil src code with an older Microsoft compiler (MSC/C++ 16.00 / VS2010) under Win10 and have run into two compilation/linking errors of the trunk branch.

1 - C89 compliance: In import.c and timeline.c there are some variable declarations which are not at the beginning of a code block, but intermingled with statements. I assume this should be corrected.

Here is a patch (against check-in c21f7397):

Index: src/import.c
==================================================================
--- src/import.c
+++ src/import.c
@@ -1797,10 +1797,13 @@
     gsvn.zBranches = find_option("branches", 0, 1);
     gsvn.zTags = find_option("tags", 0, 1);
     gsvn.revFlag = find_option("rev-tags", 0, 0)
                 || (incrFlag && !find_option("no-rev-tags", 0, 0));
   }else if( gitFlag ){
+    const char *zGitUser;
+    char *currGitUser;
+    
     markfile_in = find_option("import-marks", 0, 1);
     markfile_out = find_option("export-marks", 0, 1);
     if( !(ggit.zMasterName = find_option("rename-master", 0, 1)) ){
       ggit.zMasterName = "master";
     }
@@ -1807,15 +1810,15 @@
     ggit.authorFlag = find_option("use-author", 0, 0)!=0;
     /*
     ** Extract --attribute 'emailaddr username' args that will populate
     ** new 'fx_' table to later match username for check-in attribution.
     */
-    const char *zGitUser = find_option("attribute", 0, 1);
+    zGitUser = find_option("attribute", 0, 1);
     while( zGitUser != 0 ){
       ggit.gitUserInfo = fossil_realloc(ggit.gitUserInfo, ++ggit.nGitAttr
        * sizeof(ggit.gitUserInfo[0]));
-      char *currGitUser = fossil_strdup(zGitUser);
+      currGitUser = fossil_strdup(zGitUser);
       ggit.gitUserInfo[ggit.nGitAttr-1].zEmail = next_token(&currGitUser);
       ggit.gitUserInfo[ggit.nGitAttr-1].zUser = rest_of_line(&currGitUser);