Fossil Forum

Fossil discussion on Lobsters
Login

(1) By Richard Hipp (drh) on 2019-08-23 16:10:15 [link] [source]

(2.3) By Steve Schow (Dewdman42) on 2019-08-23 17:26:49 edited from 2.2 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

The discussion keeps rearing its head.. :-)

I have been using fossil for a couple years now and I still think, the sheer simplicity of setting it up is worth its price in gold for many of us. Its just unbelievably easy to setup and administrate and for small projects like me...MORE then adequate in terms of scalability.

Recently I have been investigating the possibility of moving from fossil to GIT. Why? Not because of the SCM itself. Fossil is so much more intuitive to use, while GIT still scares me a bit. But mainly its because of all the integration with other tools. GIT is everywhere now. Like it or not, GIT has become the defacto standard. Microsoft is getting behind it too now so I can easily see GIT being the defacto standard for decades in the future. Like it or not. That means even more integration with GIT will continue to be everywhere and GIT skills would not be a bad thing to have.

It keeps coming back, however to the fact that fossil is just so easy to setup. A single DB file and its all in there. That is a thing of beauty. Easy to backup. The fact that tickets and wiki are built into it, also are simply wonderful in one executable. I have been investigating lately some alternatives like gitea, redmine, phabricator, gitlab and a few others. Some of them are very nice, but setting them up, making sure they are backed up properly, and all the rest...not trivial. Fossil is truly awesome as long as you don't need anything it doesn't do. So far I have just told myself to use fossil, live without the things it can't do...and frankly..that is probably good enough.