Fossil Forum

CSS /setup_skin process is very buggy
Login

(1) By anonymous on 2023-12-30 01:35:09 [source]

I've been trying to make the page narrower so that it's not taking up the entire width of my screen. I modified the CSS as follows (this could be for any skin):

/* General settings for the entire page */
body {
  margin: 0 auto;
  max-width: 800px;
  padding: 0px;
  background-color: white;
  font-family: sans-serif;
  -moz-text-size-adjust: none;
  -webkit-text-size-adjust: none;
  -mx-text-size-adjust: none;
}

I get a whole host of different behaviors when I do this and preview the results, and sometimes see the shortened max-width take effect, but I'm not able to actually apply the changes to the site. Dunno what's going on, this is my first time trying fossil. If someone can replicate the problem and fix this that would be great; I want to customize my page and make it look fancy.

(2) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2023-12-30 01:48:35 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

I get a whole host of different behaviors when I do this and preview the results, and sometimes see the shortened max-width take effect

The first thing to try when editing skins is to open up the browser's dev tools and check the "disable cache" button (in the "Network" tab in both Chrome and Firefox), and keep the dev tools open for the remainder of your style-editing session. Browsers are typically aggressive about caching stylesheets, often requiring multiple reloads to force them to update to newer CSS. The "disable cache" option works around that.

I want to customize my page and make it look fancy.

If i may offer two hints to that end:

• Remove the vendor-prefixed CSS styles (-moz-..., -webkit-..., -mx-...). Modern browsers will often emit warnings in the dev console proclaiming that such prefixes are no longer supported.