Fossil Forum

Awesome Fossil
Login

Awesome Fossil

Awesome Fossil

(1) By Eric Wikman (ericwikman) on 2022-10-26 14:28:10 [link] [source]

Is there a curated list of awesome[0] extensions/community features/projects based on Fossil?

I'm new to Fossil. So far the only additional tool I'm using is koog1000's VS Code plugin which is great. From searching the web and the forums I also found fnc, Fuel, and SnailFossil.

I'm currently only using Fossil for note keeping and I am wanting to tighten up my workflow and automate it a bit. I'm going to be building a shell script similar to gumblex's inotifycommit.sh that auto-commits markdown files and adds new markdown files once it has been at least one minute since the last save/add and attempt to put some form of auto-generated commit message. I'm also going to work on having my iphone sync on a timed basis so that I have a local copy of my notes should I be without cell service.

BTW - I think the fileedit feature is being under-advertised. It is a great feature! I get the sense that there is concern that people might shoot their own foot with it and that might be why it isn't very front and center or more obvious that it exists and how to turn it on. Now that it is over a year old, maybe the fileedit-glob should default to .md,.txt for new projects.

[0] https://github.com/sindresorhus/awesome

(2) By Stephan Beal (stephan) on 2022-10-26 15:26:27 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

BTW - I think the fileedit feature is being under-advertised. It is a great feature! I get the sense that there is concern that people might shoot their own foot with it and that might be why it isn't very front and center or more obvious that it exists and how to turn it on.

(Disclaimer: i wrote /fileedit)