Fossil

Help: purge
Login

The "purge" command:

The purge command removes content from a repository and stores that content in a "graveyard". The graveyard exists so that content can be recovered using the "fossil purge undo" command. The "fossil purge obliterate" command empties the graveyard, making the content unrecoverable.

WARNING: This command can potentially destroy historical data and leave your repository in a goofy state. Know what you are doing! Make a backup of your repository before using this command!

FURTHER WARNING: This command is a work-in-progress and may yet contain bugs.

fossil purge artifacts HASH... ?OPTIONS?

Move arbitrary artifacts identified by the HASH list into the graveyard.

fossil purge cat HASH...

Write the content of one or more artifacts in the graveyard onto standard output.

fossil purge checkins TAGS... ?OPTIONS?

Move the check-ins or branches identified by TAGS and all of their descendants out of the repository and into the graveyard. If TAGS includes a branch name then it means all the check-ins on the most recent occurrence of that branch.

fossil purge files NAME ... ?OPTIONS?

Move all instances of files called NAME into the graveyard. NAME should be the name of the file relative to the root of the repository. If NAME is a directory, then all files within that directory are moved.

fossil purge list|ls ?-l?

Show the graveyard of prior purges. The -l option gives more detail in the output.

fossil purge obliterate ID... ?--force?

Remove one or more purge events from the graveyard. Once a purge event is obliterated, it can no longer be undone. The --force option suppresses the confirmation prompt.

fossil purge tickets NAME ... ?OPTIONS?

TBD...

fossil purge undo ID

Restore the content previously removed by purge ID.

fossil purge wiki NAME ... ?OPTIONS?

TBD...

COMMON OPTIONS:

--explain
Make no changes, but show what would happen.
--dry-run
An alias for --explain