Fossil Forum

Remove deadname from repository
Login

(1) By anonymous on 2023-10-06 13:22:03 [link] [source]

Hi everyone :)

I'm new to Fossil, and considering how it fits into my work etc. and I have a question that is fairly important to me.

Assuming a person changes name, and for reasons of either trauma or personal safety does not want their old name visible in a repository. How would Fossil handle this? I know there is the amend command, but this only adds a correction, which means the old name is still locatable and, worse, is now connected to the new name, making datamining easy.

This sort of need has appeared in my vicinity in the past at workplaces using Git, and while it was not entirely painless, we could "just" rewrite all commits in the repo.

(2) By Warren Young (wyoung) on 2023-10-06 13:25:09 in reply to 1 [link] [source]

That's what would have to happen in Fossil, too: "just" rewrite all the commits, invalidating all other clones' ability to sync to the parent until re-cloned.

The desire to change past facts to match current desires is anti-Fossil. I doubt you're going to see such a whole-repo rewriting feature appear in Fossil, ever.

Nothing stops you from round-tripping through Git to accomplish this, though.

(3) By anonymous on 2023-10-06 14:46:45 in reply to 2 [link] [source]

Thanks for your answer, I assumed something like this would be possible, if ugly. I assume one could write their own rewriter by changing the database directly?

I do wonder, though.